Bread is one of the major eaten food items in the world. Everywhere, there are some other types of bread available in the restaurants or the food courts. Bread is used in street foods as well as in some of the best high-end cuisines. These pieces of bread can be used as a snack, a side dish, or in the main course. Its use is highly diverse. There are many different types of bread. Most of the bread is vegetarian. There are several non-vegetarian pieces of bread as well. They are used to create some of the best dishes. Most of the time vegetarian bread is used in the dishes to enhance the taste of the dish.
Trying out some vegan bread
The most basic way to figure out if a piece of bread is vegan or not is by looking at the ingredient. The basic ingredient used in the bread is flour, milk, sugar, and some salt. However, some of them use butter, eggs, honey, and yeast to fluff it up. These ingredients make the bread non-vegan. There are different types of vegetarian bread to try. Some of these are as follows:
- Pita bread is a very famous bread. It is made from a mixture of flour, water, yeast, and salt. These are a type of flatbread that is generally vegan but other ingredients such as eggs, honey, or milk can also be added to make them rich in flavor.
- Baguette is a very famous french bread that is prepared as thin strips which have a crisp crust and tender crumb. These are mostly presented as a side dish with cheese dips. These have a salty crunchy state.
- Ezekiel is a bread made up of sprouted whole grain flour and legumes. These are highly nutritious as they have a composition of protein. These are very healthy as compared to other bread.
- Some of the Italian flatbreads are vegan. They are made on the pan. They use olive oil instead of butter or eggs to make the bread softer and fluffier.
Most of the time it is seen that the flatbreads are mostly vegan as they do not have ingredients to make the bread more fluffy. Hence, these bread are also a little less processed as compared to the non-vegan bread. However, some flatbreads are non-vegan as well. Hence, it is better to check the ingredients to know if the bread is vegan or not.